Skip to content

New addition

August 30, 2011

I decided today to try adding a new food to my diet. When I was doing Atkins I was eating flax bread towards the end. This was about the time my weight started stalling and I got discouraged with counting carbs. So when I started 4HB and then decided to just do a general (very) low carb diet without counting anything I decided to stay away from flax bread. I wanted to give it another shot now that I am comfortable with how I am eating and the losses I am seeing, but after doing some research it seems that flax could be linked to prostate cancer. On top of that even though flax is high in Omega-3 it is apparently in the form of ALA and that I gather is not the form that is best used by the body. Which apparently is DHA and EPA, but I am far from knowledgeable on this topic. So I decided until further research on Omega-3s and flax can be done I would just stay clear of it.

So instead of flax bread I decided to use almond flour to make bread. I found out that my flax bread recipe can easily be made with almond flour instead of flax meal.

Nutrition comparison:

1/4 cup of almond flour (enough for one sandwich) only has 3g net carbs (6g carbs – 3g fiber), 6g protein, and if you care about this sort of thing (I don’t) 160 calories.

1/4 cup of flax meal has 0g net carbs (8g carbs – 8g fiber), 6g protein, and 120 calories.

So the almond flour technically has more carbs, but I feel better having the almond flour that I know is good for me.

So to make some simple bread mix

  • 1/4 cup almond or flax flour (I am sure any other type would work too)
  • 2TBSP of fat. I used butter (I melted it in the microwave first), but will try coconut oil next time.
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
Put it in a container, preferably glass if you have it, that is the shape of a slice of bread and microwave it for about a minute and a half. When it is done pop it out and let it cool. Some recipes say this makes one slice of bread, but I found that mine was thick enough to slice in half and use as two pieces. Fill it with what ever you please. I chose some mesquite smoked pork loin I smoked this weekend, swiss cheese, spicy mustard, and mayo. It was very good and I was super pleased with how the bread turned out. The only thing I didn’t like is that I used jarred mayo that is made with soybean oil and as I general rule I try to stay far far far away from anything soy.

I don’t expect this addition to cause me any trouble, but to make sure I am going to limit myself to one sandwich a day and see how it goes.
Now go out and have yourself a sandwich! 

