Skip to content

100 push ups, 2nd non cheat day gain, and what’s in my food?

August 22, 2011

I started my one hundred push ups program today. When I took the initial test I was able to force out 14 push ups and so I was going to do the plan according to that. This morning though I found that I was unable to do that level of the plan just yet. So I am dropping down a level and will go from there. The end results should be the same so I don’t mind. I would rather be able to fully follow the plan than to try to feel better mentally by being in a higher level. So here are the results of the first day:

Week 1 Monday Goal Monday Actual
SET 1 6 6
SET 2 6 6
SET 3 4 4
SET 4 4 4
SET 5 max (at least 5) 6

The rest of the weel will look like this:

Wednesday Goal Wednesday Actual Friday Goal Friday Actual
6 8
8 10
6 7
6 7
max (at least 7) max (at least 10)

Today is the second time I have gained weight without it being a cheat day. I gained 0.6lbs yesterday. I am not upset about this because I know I will still have a loss for the week come saturday morning, and it is explainable and easily avoidable.

I went to my dad’s house yesterday for a family get together. He was smoking ribs and cornish game hens. I talked to my sister about how he was going to be making them and she told me the rub was good to go for me to eat. When I got there I found out that there was actually brown sugar in the rub. My dad said it was pretty much at the end of the list of ingredients. I went ahead and took a gamble and ate about 9 bones worth of ribs and half a hen (which was just smoked). An hour or so later I just didn’t feel right. I was tired and cranky and that doesn’t happen to me on non cheat days. It especially doesn’t happen since I started my intermittent fasting.

When I got home from that I decided maybe getting some veggies would help me feel better. So I had a salad with blue cheese and the Walden Farms ranch dressing. Later that night I also had a bowl of chicken tortilla soup (sans the tortilla of course) with some Iberico cheese added to it. For a dessert later that night I made sugar free lime jello and some sugar free whipped cream.

So I think the rib rub combined with the increased dairy intake for the day is what did it for me. This however brings me to my next topic. What is in the food I eat?


I was at walmart looking at the sugar free jello because the kind I bought did not have quick set instructions and I wanted to make it to eat that night. While looking at the differences between Jello brand and wallmarts brand I noticed something different about the ingredients. Both had maltodextrin, but the Jello brand said “(from corn)”… FROM CORN?! What the hell is maltodextrin and why is it from corn? So I did some googling and found out that maltodextrin comes from rice, corn, or potato starch!

Okay… Let’s think about this… I don’t eat rice, I don’t eat corn, and I don’t eat potatoes… So why on earth would I eat something that comes from them?! This made me wonder what else I am eating that I probably shouldn’t or wouldn’t if I knew where it came from. So here soon when I get a bit of free time I am going to start analyzing what it is that I actually eat, where it comes from, and how it makes me feel. I am certain the end results will be me eating even more fresh foods than I already do. I really don’t eat much of anything that is packaged these days, but I think I need to drop most of the stuff I still do eat that is packaged.

 

Let this be a lesson. If you want to eat real food you just have to make it yourself. You just can’t trust it into the hands of others and especially not big food manufacturers.

 

Also as a side note I am looking into going completely gluten, rice, and legume free. I am already doing that 6 days a week, but on cheat day I eat whatever I want. After I do some research I am going to try 2-4 weeks of doing a more pure cheat day and see how I feel. I think the answer is obvious, but I am still going to test it out.

5 Comments
  1. August 22, 2011 13:39

    Jello has been putting maltodextrin in their sugar free jello for a while now. It affects my blood sugar so I learned about it pretty quick!

    I now make my own jello with unflavored gelatin and sugar free syrups.

    It does kinda suck that we can’t just buy something that is what the label says it is!

    • August 22, 2011 13:52

      I was thinking of trying to make my own jello like that. Do you have a specific method for making yours?

  2. August 23, 2011 08:49

    Maltodextrin is in most artificial sweeteners too as a bulking agent (otherwise, it would be like two little grains of sweetener in a packet.) Netrition sells a liquid sweetener called EZ-Sweetz, there are similar products other places as well – this sweetener is just splenda and water, so there’s nothing else in it and it has zero carbs. There are some recipes where you just need the bulkening agent for texture or volume, and then you’re kind of stuck or just don’t make the recipe.

    • August 24, 2011 08:04

      I think I am just going to try to steer clear of low carb sweets for right now. Thanks for the info though!

Trackbacks

  1. Carb-ageddon | Hone Improvement

Comments are closed.

