Skip to content

One hundred push ups, cheat day, and Old Navy

August 21, 2011

Today while reading Hone Improvement’s recent blog post I learned about a program to help you build up to doing 100 consecutive push ups. I have been working on trying to build up my push ups anyway, but now I can do so with an actual program. I took the initial test this morning and was only able to manage 14 push ups. So starting tomorrow I will start this program and see where it takes me!

My first week will look like this:

SET 1 10
SET 2 12
SET 3 7
SET 4 7
SET 5 max (at least 9)

There will be a 60 second rest between each set. Each week consists of three days with a day of rest between each day. So I will be doing my days on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I’m excited to get this going and 100 consecutive push ups seems impossible right now, but I will not allow myself to give in to doubt.


Yesterday was cheat day and I decided to have an all out cheat day because I wanted to see how my Intermittent fasting will change my cheat day recovery time. So here is what cheat day looked like for me (in orderer of appearance):

  • 2 Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
  • 7 chocolate chip waffles with dark chocolate peanut butter and real maple syrup
  • 6″ buffalo chicken sandwich on flat bread (subway) with salt and vinegar kettle chips
  • 1 Nathan’s hotdog, 1 slice of cheese pizza, and one slice of pepperoni pizza (Sam’s club)
  • 4 chicken tenders with honey (Chick-fil-A)
  • 3 slices of a medium pepperoni and black olive pizza from Mellow Mushroom and a few pita triangles with hummus
  • Bag of Funyuns (the size you get at the check out of a grocery store)
  • Half of a pint of Ben and Jerry’s Phish Food ice cream
So what damage did that do to my weight? 5lbs gained. Which is not bad since I expected to see my largest cheat day gain after that. So now I am anxious to see how IF helps with recovering from that.

I went to Old Navy yesterday to see if I could find another pair of cheap shorts and saw that they had a lot of stuff on clearance. They had some shorts for $13-14, but sadly not in a size 36. They did have a couple size 34s so I decided to try those on just for fun since my size 36 shorts from them were a little loose. I figured they would not fit at all, but thought it would be fun to try anyway. Sure enough they didn’t really fit, but I was actually able to zip and button them while still being able to breath! So I think that is a great sign that I will not be in a size 36 for long! I would have bought them but with colder weather coming soonish I figured by next spring I will probably be past a 34. So I didn’t get them but it still boosted my spirits some!

Comments are closed.

