Skip to content

Walden Farms and day 2 of intermittent fasting.

August 19, 2011

Again today I tried out the intermittent fasting, and I enjoyed today even more than yesterday. It is hard to explain the difference I feel and all I can really say is that everything feels better. I have a clearer mind and my body feels better. I’m very interested in seeing how things change in the coming days as I continue with this experiment.

Today at work I was at a grocery store in a town where lots of elderly people live. I knew this store carried more diabetic friendly products so I thought I would look for a sugar free BBQ sauce since I can’t find one anywhere and I am just too lazy to make my own! Well I found some BBQ sauce made by Walden Farms. They had four kinds of BBQ sauce and all of them were no carbs, sugars, calories, fat, cholesterol, or gluten. I really don’t care about calories, fat, or cholesterol but I don’t want gluten, sugar, or carbs unless from something like tomatoes. I thought that this sauce would also have no taste, and after googling some reviews it seemed like it was pretty 50/50. Some people LOVED it and some really hated it. I decided to get the thick and spicy sauce and was anxious to get off work and try it out.

I did notice that Walden Farms has many other products all of which have no calories, gluten, carbs, sugar, and so on. They have salad dressing, chocolate and caramel syrup, chocolate dip, caramel dip, marshmallow dip, jams and jellies, and even a peanut spread. I also got a bottle of ranch dressing, but again figured it was a 50/50 shot at it being horrible.

When I got home I covered 5 drum sticks in sauce and put them in the oven. While I waited I made a salad with an iceberg lettuce mix, cauliflower, cucumber, turkey pastrami, iberico cheese, and the ranch dressing mixed with guacamole. I tasted the ranch before mixing it with the guacamole and I was very surprised to find that it was actually pretty tasty. The guacamole-ranch mixture was really amazing though! I ate the salad while waiting on my chicken and added more sauce to the chicken a couple times through the cooking.

When the chicken was done the sauce had thickened up and dried up a bit, but after rolling them around in the sauce at the bottom of the dish they looked pretty good. I tasted the BBQ sauce by itself out of the bottle and it was very good! After cooking the chicken with it though I did not really like the thickness of it. It turned almost gummy. I think next time I will just add the sauce after the chicken is cooked and let the chicken warm up the sauce.

In the end I am very pleased with the quality of these two products and will be trying more of their products in the future!

 

EDIT: I almost forgot to mention that today I went to get resized for my work shorts because mine are just way too big now. I was a size 42 at one time, and at a point they almost didn’t fit because I was too fat. Today however I fit perfectly in a size 38! The company that provides our uniforms has pretty small sizes so I would say they are really like a 36. I am pretty excited to now wear a size 36-38 instead of 40-42!

8 Comments
  1. Lynn permalink
    August 19, 2011 05:32

    I’m glad it’s going well! Success is very encouraging. You’re out and about in your job, seeing lots of overweight people everywhere probably. Do you ever wish you could get them to try the same things, because they’d probably have success too?

    • August 19, 2011 06:25

      I do see overweight people everywhere! I was just telling my wife the other day that sometimes when working on a machine in a break room somewhere I will see a very obese person scarfing down high carb/sugar meals and I just want to sit down with them and tell them all about what I am doing. I of course would never do that because it would be very rude and I would be making a lot of assumptions. For all I know they are perfectly happy the way they are.

      However, what really just breaks my heart is when I see obese children. Sometimes I see these kids walking out of a convenience store with their parents carrying a large slush and the biggest piece of candy in the store. I am also in and out of schools all the time. When I walk through the lunch room and see what kids are being fed it just makes me mad. Their “nutritious” “well-balanced” meal is nothing but a blood sugar bomb. It’s sad.

      • August 19, 2011 07:46

        Ugh yea. Seeing obese children is just heart breaking. Before starting my healthier eating, I ate fast food every week (Wait, I still do…. :D) and would occasionally see a family eating a meal in there. Usually all members of the family were obese.

        I mean so was (am) I, but I’m an adult, and I make my own choices. These parents SHOULD have total control over what their kids are eating. Just setting them up for a tough life…

      • August 19, 2011 09:04

        I agree it is upsetting to see parents setting their children up for what could be a life long struggle with health.

      • Lynn permalink
        August 19, 2011 14:40

        Yes, I agree you can’t really say anything. It would be nice if you could say something, the person would learn something, or get inspired, and have success also. Yes, a room full of fat children drinking regular sodas and eating food products would be very depressing to me. It’s the feeling I have each Sunday morning at church when everybody’s munching away on carbs and drinking juice. It depresses me! But of course I don’t say anything. Little do they know that I love that junk probably more than they do and ate it all my life. I got away with it for a very long time, then started getting fat and diabetic.

        I guess what bothers me is like when I’m in the grocery store and observing what people buy. Whether or not it’s true, it makes me feel like, “These poor people. They have no clue what they’re doing to their bodies, because they don’t read on this subject. They just see commercials, get influenced, eat what tastes good, etc.” It feels quite frustrating. It makes me hate the big food companies when I walk down the cereal aisle or down the chip aisle or the soda aisle. And most of the people in the store are very fat. It just makes me wish they weren’t buying the crap and were happily getting slimmer and healthier. The food companies would sit up and pay attention real quick. And I’m all for freedom; don’t want to be the food police-just wish people were informed.

        Sorry for the rant. It just came upon me!

      • August 19, 2011 21:57

        Rants are always welcome here! I am known to do a bit of ranting myself!

        It is really sad to watch people, especially those who struggle with weight and health issues, eat stuff they are being told is healthy or just complete garbage. I wish I had known sooner that I can eat amazing food and lose weight. All while never feeling the torment of a starvation diet.

        I am constantly looking at what people are buying at the store and it really makes me sick now to see how much sugar people eat and how much carb loaded foods people eat as the basis of their eating.

        I agree, I don’t want to be out there forcing people to do this or that, but I wish they just knew better…

  2. August 19, 2011 07:57

    *Drool* Man that food looks good. Glad you found some sauces that you enjoy and are compliant. I mentioned on twitter possibly just going low carb, but I think I’ll stick with slow carb a little more. I hope I don’t jinx it, but the scale is finally moving for me with the changes I put in this week. I just hope it stays down for Saturday morning.

    In the future, I might jump back and forth, or find a nice mixture between scd, lowcarb, and paleo to maintain and get a better variety of food. I don’t want to never eat fruit again, and unless I’m mistaken I believe some fruit is okay on paleo. I won’t go back to a “normal” diet again, though. No matter what it will be low carb or GI, or something actually healthy.

    Wow I didn’t mean for this post to be long. My original topic or question was going to be your fasting. I think you said yesterday you weren’t hungry at all during the day, was it the same today? Are you drinking water to keep the hunger feeling away? I’d imagine I would feel hunger during the day at least the first few times I tried. Though if I drink water throughout the day I rarely feel very hungry.

    And finally, something slightly off topic; do you enjoy your work? It sounds awesome to me. I’m in IT, and while I love me some technology, I sit at a desk all day. The idea of travelling around to different places every day sounds very appealing. I feel like no matter how well I eat, or how in shape I am, sitting for 8+ hours a day is going to kill me.

    Whew, sorry for the long post. Hope you have a good day and a great weekend 😉

    • August 19, 2011 09:19

      I am going to be making a post tonight about what I have found with the differences (for me) between Atkins, 4HB, and just general low carb/paleo. I think you will find it useful/interesting.

      Never worry about long comments. I love talking about this stuff and hearing from people.

      I am replying on my phone so I can’t see your comment while replying so I will try to remember it all, but if not I will just comment again 🙂

      As far as fasting goes I naturally don’t feel hungry much. 90% of the time I say “I’m hungry” what I really mean is “this sounds tasty and I want to eat it” or “I’m bored”. I do drink lots of water normally. When I am not fasting I drink about 120-140oz of water while at work (12 hrs), but when fasting I have drank 200oz of water while at work. So I have been drinking more water, but only in response to thirst and never because I thought I should or to make hunger go away. Granted if I did not drink much water I may feel hungrier. Which we will find out this weekend since I drink significantly less water when I am not working.

      As far as my job goes I do really enjoy it as a whole. There are aspects I do not enjoy, but that usually is dealing with people who are horrible at communication or just a jerk.

      I really enjoy nature and since I drive a lot I get to enjoy it often. I get to see a lot of amazing sunsets and that is very nice. I also don’t have a boss breathing down my neck or coworkers annoying me. I work by myself, at my pace, and I do my service calls in whatever order I feel like. Sometimes it gets lonely but lately I have become more… I guess centered would be the word. So I am starting to just enjoy life in all circumstances.

      I think I covered everything 🙂

Comments are closed.

