Skip to content

It’s not always a good time

August 9, 2011

I’ve been a bit bummed out tonight. The worst part is that it is for a pretty stupid reason.

I didn’t/don’t like the idea that we HAVE to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner. This concept just seems absurd to me. Our bodies evolved with the ability to let us know when to eat or drink. So the concepts of drinking 8 glasses of water a day and eating three meals a day just doesn’t make sense to me. So lately I have been trying to just eat when I am hungry and drink water when I am thirsty. I have found that I still drink 120-160oz of water a day by just drinking when I am thirsty. However, I have failed on my idea of eating when hungry. I usually eat breakfast in the morning (about 6:30-7:00) just because I want to eat, but rarely am I hungry. I then come home on my lunch break anywhere from 14:00-17:00, and usually eat because I figure I would surely get hungry soon and I don’t want to buy food outside the house. Then by the time I get home at about 21:00 I end up eating either because I have something that sounds good  in the fridge or I stress eat.

Today was no exception from this routine, and I keep feeling guilty about eating when I get home from work. I know I shouldn’t because my weight is still coming of at a great rate, but I still do worry and stress about it. I noticed that I really only worry and stress when I am still “recovering” from my cheat days. I know the weight will come back off and that I will have an overall loss for the week, but still I worry.

 

The best I can assume is that my brain is still trying to tell me that the old conventional “wisdom” about weight loss is correct, and that this will end up like all other “diets”. I know that is not true when I think about it, but the brain is a crazy thing and still likes to play tricks on you. Well, at least mine does.

 

I am going to try to not stress and worry. I’m going to try to only eat/drink when my body tells me to. I know this will not happen in the morning since I have a corned beef in the crock pot right now… BUT I am also going to try to cut myself some slack because I know I am being far too hard on myself…

6 Comments
  1. August 9, 2011 23:44

    Hi Aaron,

    When I’ve worried in the past, I’ve always found it helpful to write down specifically what worries me. When I start worrying about the same thing at some point in the future, I am able to recognize the oftentimes irrational worry, and I create a mental diversion. Really the mind cannot focus on two things simultaneously, so focusing on the diversion alleviates the worry.

    Good luck, you’re doing great.
    David

    • August 10, 2011 06:26

      Thanks David, that is a great idea. I will try writing these things down from now on and see if it helps!

  2. Lynn permalink
    August 10, 2011 06:22

    Your post highlighted how complicated it can get when you worry about proper timing of meals, proper amount of water to drink, and all that. There are so very many approaches to dieting, and I think almost all of them have a grain of truth or wisdom in their particular approach. So then we’re left to figure who’s right or if all are sort right, or they’re right for some people, etc. lol-crazy-making stuff.

    I used to be really jealous of people who don’t get out of control with food. It’s just not part of who they are. They don’t think about food constantly. But now I’m much more accepting of who I am and actually like myself also!

    It sounds like your cheat day is causing anxiety and making you feel defeated for a couple days afterward? It doesn’t seem to send you on a binge though, which is good. I had a cheat day for awhile where I’d go to the local bakery and get a large brownie or cannoli. Sure, it tasted heavenly, but it made me want to go back for more the next day, although I didn’t. It also made me feel bad because my blood sugar went way up, and I knew that was harming my body. So the only good part was the few minutes of actually eating the treat.

    Wow, you drink a lot of water. I’m the opposite. I rarely get thirsty, so I do try to drink some water, but certainly not 6-8 glasses per day.

    Worrying about doing it all perfectly is a problem. But it sounds like you’re doing well actually.

    • August 10, 2011 06:34

      I used to listen to various podcasts and audio books while I was at work, but I found myself getting too much conflicting info. That just caused me lots of problems. So I banned listening to stuff like that until I lose the weight and start focusing on general health stuff and fitness.

      The cheat days do cause me anxiety, but with each cheat day I eat less horrible and feel less anxious. So I think it is serving an important role in my journey right now. I don’t have a problem with eating like cheat day on normal days because I really like eating like I do now. Also when I eat lots of sugar and carbs I just feel horrible. I used to get tired after meals and feel very weighed down. Since I started eating low carb that just doesn’t happen anymore. So I always keep that in mind.

  3. August 10, 2011 09:50

    I know what you mean, SO many rules about when and what to eat that we almost ignore out biorhythms. Definitely get what you mean about hunger. Its 11:52am and I haven’t eaten yet because I’m just not hungry, however, I guess this also leads to an increased chance of bingeing later on. What do you think?

    • August 10, 2011 09:56

      I think the concept of eating often is rooted in two things. The first being to prevent over eating. The second to prevent drops in blood sugar, but that doesn’t really apply to people who don’t eat tons of carbs.

      I think we just have to know what works for us. I don’t get super hungry really fast. So I don’t worry about over eating if I go all day without eating. My biggest problem is eating when I’m not hungry just because it sounds good!

Comments are closed.

