Skip to content

Filling Idle Time

August 9, 2011

I work for Coca-Cola as a service technician. So my Job is to drive around my service area fixing vending machines, fountain machines, and coolers. I work 900-21:00 Monday-Thursday, and most of that time seems to be spent driving. I really hate that I have to sit for that long and I am trying to find something I can do while driving to help me towards better fitness. I don’t know if it does anything, but while driving I do a modified “cat vomit” crunch.

I decided yesterday I would also try to fill idle time on jobs with something other than sitting there. Yesterday I was working on a sandwich machine and had to wait and observe the machine for over an hour. So I decided to skip around the room, walk around the room, do push up things on a window sill, wall sits, and stepping onto and off of a bench. Obviously no one was around because I am just too self conscious right now to do that with people around, haha. My chest/arm area is sore today, but it is a good kind of sore.

I don’t really know what I am doing, but I figure anything is better than nothing. So that is my new approach to my fitness. I also want to pick some exercises and start a progression with them. Like maybe doing 1 push up today, 2 tomorrow, 3 the next day, and so on.

I have a problem with getting ahead of myself and trying to do more than I can handle, but I think I will be good as long as I allow myself the option to stop anytime I think I am doing too much.

 

Also while doing my push up things I noticed this outside the window… Classy

 

3 Comments
  1. Lynn permalink
    August 9, 2011 10:43

    I think those are great ideas. You’re being creative, you’re observing your environment more closely. I think it’s great. I also recently learned about movnat.com. I think that’s it. One kind of natural movement was tree climbing. I happened to need to climb up onto my kitchen counter to reach a high shelf. So I though, hey, I could do this in place of tree climbing for now.

    Also my son wanted to see if I could do a chin-up, which of course I could not. But I did get my feet off the floor and hung there. I simply used the top of the shower stall to hang on.

    Your post is encouraging; thanks.

    • August 9, 2011 11:09

      Yes, movnat, is a very cool concept. I listened to an interview with the guy who started it and it really motivated me!

      I am slowly changing the way I see the world around me and realizing I don’t need a gym membership or expensive equipment. Everything I need is around me every day!

      I’m glad you enjoyed my post, thanks for reading!

  2. August 9, 2011 11:16

    Great idea Aaron…You can do things as simple as flexing to burn energy; anything that forces the muscle to contract is good for you.

    Regards,
    David

Comments are closed.

