Skip to content

A change of format

August 6, 2011

Originally this blog was going to be for the purpose of tracking my progress on the 4 hour body diet and whatever else came after that. I’ve since decided to expand it to just a general blog. The main focus will still be about my health and weight loss efforts, but I will be adding in thoughts on other subjects, such as parenting and dealing with anxiety & depression, and showing any photos I take that I am especially proud of.

So to kick off my new format I wanted to share my fun experience today.

Today was my cheat day and we decided to kick it off with a couple of doughnuts for breakfast. Within 30 minutes I felt horrible! Then I got the bright idea to get a drink from Starbucks and then of course felt worse. Later on we had a lunch of chicken bacon ranch pizza. Again I felt horrible. Every week by Thursday or Friday I convince myself I am excited for cheat day and then about mid cheat day I never want to see sugar or carbs again, but I will go into that more later. My son finally went down for his nap and I had planned on writing a blog post and relaxing while playing on my iPad. Well the keyboard batteries died in my wife’s Mac.

So while I was waiting for them to charge I decided go outside and deal with cleaning my smoker from using it last night. Even though I felt like crap it felt nice to get outside barefoot in the 106deg heat. Sounds odd, I know. Anyway, while I was out there I decided I wanted to clean up the back yard to make it easier/safer to walk around barefoot. I should also mention that I am trying to go barefoot any time it is possible and wear flip flops when I can’t go barefoot, unless I am at work. So I got my rake out of the garage and started to rake the backyard, which with this heat and lack of rain is mostly dead grass and dirt. normally I don’t care to get dirty, but something just felt nice about being out in the sun with no shirt or shoes on and getting dirty. I got most of the back yard done and plan to finish it tomorrow. Then I can go out and walk around without worrying about stepping on something that could cut my foot open.

The crazy thing is, as I was out there raking up a big dust cloud I started to feel significantly better, and I noticed I did not get tired from the work like I used to. So after working through my son’s nap I ended up feeling amazing and still wasn’t tired!

 

I am looking into building somethings that will help with exercise. I think I am going to make a pull up bar in my backyard along with some monkey bars. Looking online it seems like it would be fairly inexpensive and easy to make. I also want to make something to help me with balance.

 

So about cheat day. I have mixed feelings about cheat day. I like it because I get to eat foods that I used to eat all the time, but now know are not good to eat, and it helps kind of transition to a better way of eating. However, I don’t like it because I feel horrible physically most of the time and I know these foods are not good for me at all! I know there is talk about it helping to keep up your metabolism and keep you on track to weight loss. I also know that many people think of this way of life as an all or nothing sort of thing and shun the idea of not eating paleo/low carb/slow carb/whatever. I have a lot of anxiety problems in general and uncertainty and feeling out of control exacerbate the problem. I go to therapy every week, which I LOVE going, and was talking to my therapist about this conflict in my mind about cheat day. We talked about one of the benefits of it is that I grew up eating a certain way all my life, and if I just change it all overnight I could have some problems with that. Which I did. So it is helpful for me to have the cheat day and slowly ease out of eating the stuff I think I want but usually end up not liking that I ate it after. So for now I am going to leave the cheat day in. I can already see how as time goes by I will lessen the junk “food” I eat. Ideally I would love to go 100% all natural paleo type of eating, but I just can’t afford to do that now. I know many can jump right into that and be fine financially and mentally, but I just am not that lucky. So that is the choice I have made and for now I am happy with it and the results I am getting.

 

I hope this post makes sense since I am dead tired now from the junk I ended up eating for dinner and need to go to bed!

9 Comments
  1. August 6, 2011 21:59

    Congratulations Aaron…barefeet, sunlight and dirt…it’s the primal lifestyle. Best of luck in you apprehensions about the cheat day; you’ve got to do what you’re most comfortable doing.

    Good luck in good health,
    David

    • August 6, 2011 22:16

      I’m really trying to move to the way I want to live at a pace that I feel comfortable with without getting overwhelmed or jumping into something without enough info.

      Thank you for following along with my progress and I appreciate the feed back you have given. Feed back really helps me keep my head from getting filled with too many crazy thoughts, lol.

      • August 7, 2011 10:45

        My pleasure Aaron; I believe we’re both in this for the long haul.

        Regards,
        David

  2. Jason permalink
    August 7, 2011 05:45

    Great post! Sounds like you had a pretty good day, minus the junk food feelings.

    It’s amazing how there seems to be a recurrence of themes when I read posts by people trying to live a slow-carb type lifestyle. Mixed feelings about cheat day and anxiety over cheat day damage/effectiveness dog me during/after each one.

    I’m truly impressed by your honesty. I’m a big believer that a public forum is a great place to share your thoughts/ideas/concerns.

    I’m looking forward to your future blog posts.

    • August 7, 2011 07:25

      Thank you! I am normally very concerned with what people will say and think about me, but lately I have found that for my own mental health that if I feel like putting something out there I should. So I try not to over think things and share what is on my mind.

      I agree that most people that do cheat days seem to end up not really enjoying them. Perhaps that is a great reason to have them, because then you will come to the decision not to eat crap food because you just don’t want it anymore.

  3. Lynn permalink
    August 7, 2011 06:47

    Great post. I think keeping the cheat day might be a good idea psychologically. But I agree that you’ll probably switch from donuts to a cheat that’s not quite as awful. I found out also that eating donuts or a large bagel with cream cheese makes me feel lousy physically. And I spent years going to DD and getting the bagel w/ cream cheese almost every single morning. (Wish I had all that money back!) When I stopped going, I thought surely they’d go out of business!

    I think after awhile, it’s knowing and reminding yourself that you’re an adult and have the freedom and power to eat whatever the heck you want to eat. Then, on that real foundation, you can decide to eat poorly or eat strictly or somewhere in between. So, who knows, you may feel like eating donuts again on your next cheat day. And be fine with doing so.

    Great picture also.

    • August 7, 2011 07:30

      I find myself saying every single cheat day “how do people eat like this everyday?!” I really can’t believe I used to eat sugary foods as much as I used to. I think I would die if I tried to eat like I did for a week. I know after just three days of a mixed non low carb diet my blood pressure, blood sugar, and mood all went crazy.

      I agree that in time I will find a balance on my cheat days. I have redefined my cheat days to not be a day where I have to eat like crap, but a day where if I want to I can have something that I normally wouldn’t. I was going to have just a normal low carb breakfast, but my wife wanted to try doughnuts (she used to hate them) and I thought it sounded good (I was wrong!). I do think the one thing I will truly miss is pizza and may just have to have pizza for lunch on Saturdays for now! 🙂

  4. August 9, 2011 10:00

    Great post! If you have room in your backyard, a railroad tie is a great thing to walk along to improve balance. It’s like having a low level balance beam in your backyard.

    If you have CiCi’s near you, they will make “pizza” in one of their metal pasta take-out containers without the crust. You tell them what toppings you want, white or red sauce, and they make it fresh to order and it’s all you can eat. Add a salad from the salad bar and it’s a cheap, yummy meal.

    • August 9, 2011 11:12

      I want to get some 4x4s to make monkey bars, a pull up bar, and also make a balance beam out of them. I also want to look into making my chimney a rock wall, but I doubt my wife will go for that…

      I never thought about asking CiCi’s to make a crustless pizza! Thanks for the suggestion! We don’t eat out much, but that will be a good option when we do!

Comments are closed.

