Skip to content

No more days…

August 4, 2011

Since I am not really following any set plan anymore I will not be tracking the days like I was before.

I have found that sticking myself into a rigid plan just doesn’t work for me because if one aspect doesn’t fit well I just can’t continue with it. It’s a silly mental thing.

From now on I am going to be crafting my plan based on what makes sense to me. Since I am researching new stuff all the time I often come across things I want to try but don’t fit into a set plan. This way I feel in control again and not just doing a plan because I am told to… After all just doing what we are told is what lead to high carb/low fat dieting.

I’m down to 250 as of this morning. I was hoping to get under 250 today, but I dropped .2lbs yesterday so I am happy.

Some things I am playing with now are only eating when I am hungry. Yesterday I ate breakfast at about 6:30 then wasn’t hungry till after 2pm. I think I ate at like 2:30 or something. So I am not going to follow the idea that meals are at a set time. I will eat when I am hungry and I won’t when I’m not, simple. I am also going to do intermittent fasting randomly. I think it is good for us to be hungry every so often. I stopped taking food to work because I go home for lunch at some point in the day anyway. Somedays I may be starving when I get to take lunch and some days I may not be hungry at all, but I think it will work better for me.

I am also looking into barefoot stuff. I want to get a pair of Vibram FiveFingers or something similar for when I go to the store or out to eat with family, but around the house I plan on being barefoot.

I also want to get into some of the recommended primal/paleo type of exercises, but I am still researching that.

Hopefully tomorrow I will be able to report that I got out of the 250’s!

4 Comments
  1. Lynn permalink
    August 4, 2011 11:24

    I do like your approach. In my history, I would start out on Day 1, and call it that, and then try to perfectly execute the plan. Of course I would “fail” at some point. That usually didn’t take long! Then I’d start over at Day 1 again. I was always on Days 1, 2, or 3.

    It’s hard for me not to do that, but I think that’s all about compulsion and perfection. In reality, life really is messy. There are good diet days, bad diet days, kinda good diet days, halfway-good diet days, boring diet days. Actually, it’s just you living your life, doing various things, changing, improving, trying something different, seeing what works.

    • August 4, 2011 11:33

      The thing I believe is going to help me most is not really taking this from the standpoint of a diet. I know what I need to eat to get leaner and healthier. I also know that in our modern day it is not always possible or even desirable to eat what we know is best. So if I have family in from out of town or some social gathering (I don’t have many in my busy life) I will try to eat right when possible, and if not it is not a big deal. The wonderful thing is I LOVE eating this way when I take the pressure off by not counting this or that, or eat at this time and that time.

      I think plans are great to get you started and understand the basics, but in the end you have to find what works for you and what you can make a mindless part of your life. Watching the clock or weighing food is just not a life long activity, at least for me!

      I may not have everything figured out and I may not be doing everything “right” but I am doing something and that is better than nothing!

      Thank you again for reading and commenting! It really helps!

  2. differentthanyesterday permalink
    August 4, 2011 21:06

    Are you rewarding yourself along the way?

    • August 4, 2011 23:14

      In what way do you mean? Losing weight is a pretty big reward! If you mean with things like food I am still going to do something like a cheat day just not as out of control as before.

Comments are closed.

