Skip to content

Day 17 – Changes

August 2, 2011

I’m going to be making some modifications to my diet again. I am going to be doing more of a primal + cheese kind of diet. Which will be pretty much 4HB – legumes. I haven’t made up my mind on cheat day yet. If I keep it around I will not be going all out like I have been. It will be less planned out and I definitely wont be gorging all day.

Right now my main goal is still losing weight. Eventually I plan on becoming 100% primal/paleo and working towards more specialized areas of health and fitness. I am still trying to figure out what exactly I am wanting to do, but one thing I know is that I don’t want to stick myself into a plan without the room for experimentation.

One thing I don’t like about the 4HB plan is the idea of eating every 4-5 hours. From now on I am going to eat when I am hungry and don’t when I’m not. I’m going to also add in more exercise, what exactly I don’t know, but something more than what I have going on now.

If you are doing a low carb/paleo/slow carb kind of diet I am very interested in hearing what you eat and how you have benefitted from it.

13 Comments
  1. August 2, 2011 22:07

    Hi Aaron,

    Best of luck with the change; I went primal in March; the first 3 weeks were a little rough coming down from the carb highs..I was a little moody, tired and I had some weird dreams, but since that time I’ve never felt better. There’s a lot of support out there now for this lifestyle, some great recipes and fitness ideas.

    Good luck in good health,
    David

    • August 2, 2011 22:31

      I’m pretty much over carbs. I did Atkins for about a month and I have been doing the 4HB thing for 17 days. The problem with me is not physically wanting carbs, it is more of a mental uncertainty. I over think EVERYTHING! So I can’t ever just settle on one thing. Which is not always a bad thing, but it does cause me to try out a lot of things. One thing I know for certain is that I plan on doing low carb for the rest of my life. I without a doubt feel 100% better when I eat low carb. The only real thing I am trying to decide on is if I am going to keep doing the cheat day thing.

  2. thedawnofthirty permalink
    August 2, 2011 22:13

    perhaps you’ll appreciate my starting blog: http://thedawnofthirty.wordpress.com

    • August 2, 2011 22:28

      I’m always looking for new blogs to follow. I will check yours out, and thanks for checking mine out!

  3. Lynn permalink
    August 3, 2011 08:33

    Hi Aaron,
    I wish you the best of luck on losing weight and getting healthier. I think some version of low carb is the way to go. I think it’s good that you’re open to trying different ways of doing this. But I’m like you-I over-think things to the point of immobilizing myself. Maybe it would help to concentrate on one particular plan-Atkins or whatever-then change it up when you get bored-which for me comes pretty quickly.

    My story, quickly: Always been a carb addict and big eater. I’d go so far as to say that food has been the main focus of my life always. It’s taken about three years of trying to go low carb to finally being able to stick with it over longer and longer periods. I think I simply eventually just got used to eating that way. it’s my new normal. And seeing that I was becoming diabetic scared me enough to stop visiting the local bakery for a large brownie or cannoli every once in awhile. Aside from the damage that does to blood sugar, it also sets off cravings for more and more carbs. Carbs are basically like a drug to me. I went for a long time between low carb, then making an exception which led to a carb binge for a week or so, then back to low carb again-over and over.

    Anyway, it’s been a process. I keep myself motivated by the things I read and checking my blood sugar frequently. Hardest thing for me is to exercise consistently.

    I’ll try to keep following your progress. So many of us have similar issues to deal with. More power to us! Oh, and I’ve lost about 20 lbs. and kept it off. But that’s just been in the last six months. Before that I’d lose a few pounds, gain them back, lose them again, etc. FINALLY broke out of that vicious cycle.

    • August 3, 2011 08:53

      Hey Lynn,
      First thanks for checking out my blog and commenting! Any feedback is always appreciated. I did do Atkins for about a month, but the constant counting of carbs got to be too much for me. I have an obsessive personality so I was being very meticulous about my carbs, down to counting the carbs in spices. This was not sustainable to me. I know that Atkins doesn’t have to be like that, but for me it kind of does due to my personality. I then moved on to 4HB and although it was working great I do not like certain aspects of it. So now I am playing around with new ideas and doing a bit of mix and match kind of thing. I listen to a lot of podcasts and stuff so I am getting new info everyday that I try to incorporate. At times it gets a little overwhelming, but it is nice to be constantly learning more.

      Lucky for me having carbs one day a week does not trigger cravings. I am lucky enough that when I tell myself “this is how I am eating from now on” I am able to follow it. The problem is all the information I take in have a lot of conflicting aspects. So I am just in the process of finding what works for me and my lifestyle.

      Congratulations on the weight loss and taking the steps to a healthier you! If you are like me, when you started this journey you found yourself feeling very in control of your body for the first time, and I love that feeling!

      Do you blog? If so I would love to follow you along on your journey!

      • Lynn permalink
        August 3, 2011 10:52

        Yes, it does feel good to be in control. At least we can control some things. We can’t control our genetics, our body type, our blood type, etc., but we can inform ourselves and keep trying to overcome our ingrained habits to do what we can control to better our health.

        Even though it sounds like we’re both over-thinkers and somewhat compulsive, all this incoming information does benefit us. I worry about the people who don’t investigate anything, just take the pill the doctor said to take, etc. You’re so right in saying people say conflicting things and it gets confusing and overwhelming. I say try what you feel like trying and see if works for you. Think of all the fascinating things we learn along the way!

        I actually do have a blog. I think I called it felixandfrances. That’s after one of my favorite movies, “The Odd Couple.” I haven’t written anything in awhile, but maybe I’ll start. Thanks so much for the encouragement.

  4. August 3, 2011 08:50

    Boooo! 😉

    Nah, do what works for you. Though I don’t follow the 4 meal a day plan and still do fine. I noticed a lot of 4hb’ers switching to primal or paleo. I’m sticking it out though. I’m getting results and feeling good.

    Hope your changes are for the better, good luck!

    • August 3, 2011 10:41

      Getting results is the important thing! I have mental issues that keep me from just sticking with it though. When you really look at it all the low/slow carb plans are trying to do the same thing. They just have different ideas of what is best.

      I think the most Important message I hear people repeat over and over is to find what works for you and do it!

      Congrats on your success btw! I am looking forward to reading your progress!

      • Lynn permalink
        August 3, 2011 11:18

        Also just wanted to say I love the name of your blog and the style.

      • August 3, 2011 14:20

        Thanks! I’m glad you like it! I was worried it sounded a little silly!

  5. August 3, 2011 14:10

    Hi Aaron,

    Good going so far. I’ll be really interested to watch your journey and share it with my husband. He’s not a big blog reader, but is always interested in other men who are doing the LC thing.

    I’ve been LC off and on (mostly off) since 2000 and am now back on permanently. I have Type II diabetes which is not well controlled with meds at all and LC and exercise are my only hope for getting back to where I’m not feeling ill.

    Good luck, and I’ll be reading along on your journey. I wish you every success with this!

    Katie

    • August 3, 2011 14:25

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

      You should take a look at http://www.diabetes-warrior.net he successfully manages his type II diabetes without the use of medication and is very inspiring!

      When I started the low carb way of life I was able to get off my two high blood pressure meds in just 3 weeks!

      It’s a great way of eating even if you don’t need to lose weight. I feel better than ever eating like this!

Comments are closed.

