Skip to content

Day 15 – Smoking a fatty

July 31, 2011

Today I decided to try my hand at smoking some meat without any help. I decided to make some bacon wrapped smoked chicken and a bacon wrapped smoked “fatty.” It turned out pretty dang good! I did have some issues keeping my smoker going the way I wanted it to, but that will get better with practice! Also I really had no idea about what I should season the meat with (if anything at all) so I just tossed some stuff together. Next time I will try to find a better seasoning or maybe find a way to make a good low carb BBQ sauce. I took some pictures of the process and figured I would share them here.

Smoked Fatty

1lb of ground beef and 1lb of ground pork
Smoked Fatty

Spinach, mushrooms, and onion.

Smoked Fatty

Smoked Fatty

Smoked Fatty

Smoked Fatty

Smoked Fatty

About halfway done!

Smoked Fatty

Done!

Smoked FattyYUMMY!

It was pretty great for a first attempt and next time I think it will be amazing! I want to make one on my next cheat day with cheese in it. Maybe some blue cheese or feta with some other types of veggies.

12 Comments
  1. July 31, 2011 16:14

    That looks incredible Aaron. It’s protein, veggies and good fat, why wait until cheat day?

    Regards,
    David

    • July 31, 2011 16:19

      This one I am eating now. I want to make some with cheese later. For 30 days I am following the 4 hour body plan which excludes cheese, except cottage cheese, but then after the 30 days I am going to a more low carb kind of diet, and will see how my weight loss goes with cheese added.

  2. August 3, 2011 14:05

    You’ve inspired dinner tonight. It’s too hot here to go outside and smoke this, so I’ll be using some hickory smoked salt and liquid smoke in my mixture to impart that smoky flavor, but I can’t wait to make this!

    • August 3, 2011 14:22

      Mine was so amazing! I have been eating it for the past few days! Great thing is you can let your imagination run wild with these! I am making a pizza one Saturday along with at least one more that I am trying to decide on!

      • August 13, 2011 09:52

        I had this that same night. I took the time to weave the bacon, and then I overstuffed the ground meat and couldn’t get it turned over, so no one but me knew how pretty it looked. My family loved this, and didn’t care that it wasn’t all that pretty.

      • August 13, 2011 10:32

        Messy or not they taste amazing! The possibilities are endless with these too! I’m glad y’all liked it!

  3. elmediat permalink
    August 6, 2011 14:07

    Good post. I’ve done Serbian style chicken rolls on the grill ( have a post on that), so this looks intriguing. I use a java-pepper rub when I do beef roasts in the vertical smoker.

    • August 6, 2011 14:16

      What is your blog address? I would like to check that out! I did some chicken breast last night that I stuffed with cream cheese, chipotle powder, garlic powder, italian parsley, and green onions, and then wrapped them up in bacon and smoked them. It turned out really good.

  4. Nick permalink
    August 9, 2011 17:46

    That looks….incredible!

Comments are closed.

