Skip to content

Day 13 – Dealing with unrealistic expectations

July 29, 2011

I have anxiety issues, and something I’ve learned recently is that one of my biggest triggers with my anxiety is things failing to meet my expectations. Also I have the tendency to have unrealistic expectations. The fun thing is I know ahead of time that my expectations are unrealistic! Yet I still do that to myself time and time again. Maybe someday I will learn…

Lately I have been having some anxiety due to failed unrealistic expectations with my weight loss.

I am sick and tired of being fat and I refuse to be okay with it anymore! I’m also very anxious to be rid of all this fat. Which means I obviously want it to come off FAST! Well, the reality is that it just doesn’t happen that way. I have been losing weight at a pretty good rate so far, at least I think so, and should be happy with it. Yet I’m not and keep beating myself up over not doing better.

At my heaviest I was 299lbs! On November 30th, 2010 I was 283lbs! Now July 29th, 2011 I am down to 251.4lbs.  Since starting The 4 Hour Body program I have gone from 262.8 to 251.4 in just 12 days, and that is even after regaining 6lbs on cheat day! That’s 11.4lbs at an average rate of .95lbs a day! I don’t know if that is actually good, but it seems good to me! If I kept it up at just half that rate I could be at my first goal weight in about 108 days. I know that as I get thinner my loss will slow so I am not expecting it to happen that soon, but my revised goal is to be at 199.8lbs by 5-1-2012. That requires losing on average 0.19lbs a day. Surely that is very possible if I stick with it. Especially as I incorporate exercise into my routine as I drop the weight.

I don’t know if it would be more or less helpful to find other people that are also losing weight and follow their progress. On one hand I think it would help because it could potentially show that my rate of weight loss is fine, which several people have told me it is great. However, on the other hand I might find that some people are losing weight much faster than me and become more discouraged… Which I understand the science behind everyone having different rates of weight loss, but I also fully understand that all the knowledge in the world doesn’t help an irrational mind…

I have found twitter to be a great resource for me. I tweet a lot using the #4HB, #4hourbody, and #slowcarb hash tags and follow those tags on Tweetdeck because it helps give me a sense of community and helps me stay accountable. Maybe my tweets largely “fall on deaf ears,” but it helps me either way.

Hopefully I can find a good way to overcome this flawed way of thinking soon because this journey will be long and hard enough without the added burden of emotional stress and anxiety.

2 Comments
  1. differentthanyesterday permalink
    August 1, 2011 13:01

    I hear you man, I just want to get this weight off as soon as possible, but it just doesn’t work that way. What are you doing for exercise?

    • August 1, 2011 13:13

      Right now I am not really doing anything for exercise. I walk a lot for work and walk a with my wife on weekends. I am planning to start some sort of additional exercise soon, but I haven’t figured out what to do yet.

Comments are closed.

