Skip to content

Day 12 – When you Assume…

July 28, 2011

So Tuesday I got the great idea that it would be awesome to do a pulled chicken kind of meal cooked in hot enchilada sauce. I remembered that I had a can in the pantry and so I made some yesterday morning, and it was AWESOME! I had it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner #1! So I had  my wife go out and get more sauce while I was at work yesterday so I could make some more this morning.

After cooking my onion and chicken and pouring in my salsa and enchilada sauce I for some reason looked at the can for the first time…

Blerg :(
Modified corn starch! 😦 Sugar! 😦 Hydrolyzed soy and corn protein, WTF is that?!? 😦

 

Sadly, as this is the day before shopping, I really don’t have much choice but to eat it, and I hate wasting money! So lesson learned! Guilty till proven innocent from now on! I guess if you want something made right you have to make it yourself!

 

On to better news! I am down 0.6lbs from yesterday bringing me down to 251.6lbs! That’s 11.2lbs lost in 11 days! Not too bad! Obviously I would like it to come off faster, but I have to be realistic about it!

12 Comments
  1. Movefasta permalink
    July 28, 2011 09:11

    thats weight loss has shocked me. keep it up. just eat it and then exercise if you really want it bad.. and drink drink drink that water for the salty sause x

    • July 28, 2011 09:20

      I am about to start actually exercising. So far this has been with pretty much no exercise, just a couple 2 mile walks. I drink tons of water! I drink about 7-8 20oz bottles of water while at work plus about 20oz first thing in the morning and about 16-20oz of oolong tea in the morning. Then at night I drink about another 20 oz of water.

  2. Movefasta permalink
    July 28, 2011 09:23

    your ontop of your water intake like no other.. well done because im a skin and health freak and i have days where i just cant drink the water, i know how challenging it can be is what im saying.

    Gd luck with your exercise and stuffs Aaron, your gonna be a success soon enough ,

    • July 28, 2011 09:43

      Thanks!

      Yeah I keep on top of my water intake really well on work days. I am still trying to improve my weekend water intake though, which is usually half of my week day in take.

  3. Movefasta permalink
    July 28, 2011 09:52

    your really focused and concerned for your water intake to be on point but once water weight is gone its gone. i know water helps flush out toxins and can up your metabolism and can help digestion and can help fat loss. but once the water retention goes you can step down a bit from the water. its all down the calories in calories out after that first week.

  4. July 28, 2011 11:26

    Hi Aaron,

    I ran into the same problem when cleaning out my pantry at the start of my journey. I too hate to waste food, so I got creative; add a can of organic crushed tomatoes to the sauce and a little water to dilute it, then re-spice it to your taste. In other cases you could add it to chicken or beef stock and use it as a soup base.

    You do have the right take-away from this; you’ve got to read those labels.

    Take care and good health,

    David

    • July 28, 2011 11:47

      I love the idea of diluting the bad ingredients, thanks David! I will be making my enchilada sauce from scratch now, and lucky for me I don’t have much in my house that is not really good food.

  5. July 29, 2011 10:43

    Yup, those pesky processed foods are chock full of bad stuff. I had my own realisation one evening after eating a nice piece of vacuum-packed tuna. I read the label, and of course the sauce was riddled with sugars. That really opened my eyes, and now I scrutinise all labels with a fine tooth comb for the myriad of words that can mean ‘sugar’.

    Keep up the good work. best wishes.
    Jason

    • July 29, 2011 10:57

      It’s crazy all the ways they sneak sugar into food. I hardly eat packaged foods anymore because I just don’t like worrying what is in my food.

  6. July 31, 2011 22:21

    I had the same reaction to “Taco Sauce” since I loved putting that on my eggs in the morning.

    Mayonaise is another food that surprised me that it had sugar (and starch in the low fat or non fat variety) in it.

    I had posted about it here: http://fatstate.com/25/low-carb-mayo/

  7. differentthanyesterday permalink
    August 1, 2011 12:59

    This is great! Yeah you really have to make sure you read those labels! I just subscribed and hope you can give me a read when you have the chance

    differentthanyesterday.blogspot.com

    • August 1, 2011 13:14

      Thanks for subscribing! I will definitely check your blog out! I am always looking for new blogs to follow!

Comments are closed.

