Skip to content

End of day 10

July 26, 2011

I just wanted to take a minute and talk about my first cheat day experience.

Well, to put it simply, I loved and hated it. I really enjoyed being able to eat all the “forbidden fruit” I got to have on cheat day. However, it did not come without a price. I did have many moments of guilt/panic about what I was eating. I tried my best to push those thoughts aside and move on with project guinea pig as planned.

I weigh myself everyday. I know that is not recommended, but I am charting a few stats through this whole process and weight is one of those.

So what was the damage after cheat day? I was up 6lbs! If you remember I was down 10lbs the first 6 days. So needless to say this caused more panic!

However, now at day 10 I am just .4lbs from my pre cheat day weight. Surely in the morning I will be well past my lowest weight. Although I am a bit concerned about my second dinner I just had… But my lunch and first dinner were small.

One other observation that maybe some of you can give me some feed back on is how carbohydrates affect my mood.

Before 4HB I was on an Atkins style diet for about a month. 3 days before starting this project I decided to eat some “regular” food. What I noticed was increased blood pressure and blood sugar levels. I also noticed I was in a very bad mood. I snapped at my poor wife over nothing for three days! Then I got on a lower carb diet again and it all went away.

The day after cheat day I was again in such a bad mood for no reason! Then on Monday I had the worst time with anxiety. I already take meds for this so this was very bizarre!

The only thing I can attribute these mood shifts in is the increased carbohydrate intake. I am going to see what happens next cheat day, but I may just have to spike my calories on cheat day with increased amounts of slow carb foods or something if this continues.

Has anyone else experienced mood swings from carbs?

4 Comments
  1. July 26, 2011 22:00

    Hmmm. You know, this past cheat day I actually ended up snapping at my fiance. I don’t think it was the carbs, though. I got a rough start to the day and we were running behind schedule and I was just really anxious.

    Before I went to college I went on atkins, but I don’t remember my mood changing when I got on or off it. Other than that, this is the only time I’ve been on a low carb diet and I haven’t found it affecting my mood really.

    I don’t take meds, so those aren’t a factor for me.

    • July 26, 2011 22:11

      Thanks for the input! It could just be coincidental that I had these problems when I boosted my carbs. It could be that I was just wound up about going off the low carb eating and worried about it’s effect on my weight.

  2. jrpopfan permalink
    July 28, 2011 07:38

    Hi. I found your site via David IS Fat blog… I am glad to see more and more people blogging about their journey to better health. I have one too. I just found out I have diabetes and have gotten myself off the sofa and am working for a better me. Reading people (like yours) blogs, really is helping me stay motivated. Thanks for sharing your story.

    • July 28, 2011 08:25

      That’s awesome that you have decided to take your health into your hands and become the person you want to be!

      I don’t know what kind of information you already have, but I would HIGHLY recommend reading Why We Get Fat by Gary Taubes, or listen to the audio book like I did. After reading that book you will understand the basis of 4 hour body, Atkins, and paleo. They all are after the same thing (blood sugar control), but go at it from different approaches. Just find what works for you!

      Also check out diabeteswarrior on twitter, or http://www.diabetes-warrior.net, for some great info on how to deal with diabetes from a nutrition stand point.

      Jimmy Moore does a podcast show called livin’ la vida low carb, http://www.thelivinlowcarbshow.com/shownotes/, and he has some amazing guests with more information than you could ever want! Check out this part of his site, http://livinlavidalowcarb.com/blog/n1, where he tests some foods marketed towards people with diabetes or on low carb diets. The results are interesting to say the least.

      Also find a support system to help you and keep you accountable! It helps alot! Which is why I do my blog.

      Thanks for commenting and letting me know that my blog was helpful to someone!

Comments are closed.

